P64 noob here. few issues

Mods and Fixes by P-64 users...
bellwilliam

P64 noob here. few issues

Post by bellwilliam »

hi, all.

new here. Bought 2 P64s from Classic a few months back. have some issues and need help.

bought some Wolff springs, both recoil and hammer.

pistol 1:
installed 18LB Wolff recoil spring (did not grind the ends)
installed 18LB hammer spring

shot some Wolf steel ammo, no issues. next tried Hornady JHP. had a few issues with slide not completely closed (by 1/8") on a chambered round. It was always first round off the magazine.

also had 1 FTF

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pistol 2:
installed 20LB Wolff recoil spring (grind off the ends or slide won't fit over)
installed 19LB hammer spring

with both Wolf steel ammmo and Hornady JHP. it drops magazine on the last round.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

weird question:

when doing function test.
dry fire, then while holding trigger. rack the slide by hand. on pistol 1, hammer will stay cocked. on pistol 2, hammer follows forward. although while shooting. both pistols goes into single action as it should.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

thanks.
Ketchman
Elite member
Elite member

Re: P64 noob here. few issues

Post by Ketchman »

Bellwilliam,
Welcome aboard. With the knowledge distributed among the members here we should be able to figure this out. 1st question. Did you fire these before swapping out the springs? If so did you have any issues at all? If not, can you put the original springs back in and try again? We need a stock baseline to work with.
Anybody else got any thoughts on this?
Close enough for Government work will get you dead, ask any Vet.
bellwilliam

Post by bellwilliam »

thanks for the reply.

no, I didn't fire it beforehand.