p 64

Mods and Fixes by P-64 users...
idlerwilly

p 64

Post by idlerwilly »

HI,
This a great site!
I have a problem with my "new" p 64.It shoots great in single action, but with a round in the chamber it will not engage the hammer for double action fireing!
With an empty chamber it will cock and drop the hammer as it should but with a round chambered it will not move the hammer!! I have cleaned it as directed on this site ane tried two different brands of ammo .
It is frusterating for it to operate fine empty or fire fine in single action mode but no double action sucess!!

Thank You
idler :|
BorisThespider

Re: p 64

Post by BorisThespider »

Sounds like it may be failing to go into battery. Try pushing the slide forward with your thumb to see if it moves. Also, does it work in single action with a round chambered? As in, cock the hammer and pull the trigger? If not, I would definitely think failure to go into battery. But I'm no expert.

How about the stupid questions - What type of ammo are you using? Did you properly clean the pistol (99% of the time they don't work is because of the cosmoline)?

Even if you have cleaned it, you should check out the advice for getting rid of the hidden cosmoline and do that first. Cosmoline is great for long-term storage, but it does get into all the little nooks and crannies and muck up the works in ways you might not expect.

Only after that would I suggest doing any other tests, especially with live ammo, for fear that you'll damage the piece because of the cosmoline.

Good luck!
idlerwilly

Post by idlerwilly »

HI,
Thanks for the reply.
It shoots and feeds normally in single mode. Empty gun fires in double action mode. Gun is cleaned as recomended. With a round in the chamber and hammer down it will not cock the hammer, the slide is fully foreward and I tapped it with a rubber hammer to make sure it is in battery.

Thank You

Idler
idlerwilly

Post by idlerwilly »

HI,