General Cleaning of P64

Info, pictures, advice...
BaconsRebellion

General Cleaning of P64

Post by BaconsRebellion »

Hey everyone Im new to tge forums here and just bought a P64 about a month ago. I love firing the gun and find to be really satisfying. Overall Im new to firearms and the obly gun I owned prior to this is a 22 Revolver. Thats been pretty simple to clean but I just have a few questions on how to clean a P64.

Ive read a few posts on here about soaking it in paint thinner or something similar for 24 hours or so then giving it a good wipe down with a toothbrush and an air duster. That seems good for an overall thorough clean but I want to know how one would go about giving the gun a quick cleaning.

What kind of oil or solvent do I use and what should be greased down and such?

Thanks for the help and any advice.

Also here's a pic of my P64. Image

Sent from my LG-LS777 using Tapatalk

Rakin

Re: General Cleaning of P64

Post by Rakin »

I would not advise soaking in pain thinner or any solution for 24 hours. Really soaking at all. If you are wanting to clean and decrease, there are specific products that can do this or you could use a non-chlorinated brake fluid. I personally cannot see the need to do so unless you are trying refinish or have something you are doing that needs the surface to be decreased. Those years of grease are protection from rust so once you remove all the protection, you immediately need to reapply protection (oil). Also keep in mind, you might be removing some finish that you don't want to remove. Think about how old that gun is.