My friend's Kel-Tec .380 vs. my Polish...

Info, pictures, advice...
islandson827

Post by islandson827 »

So a friend of mine was boasting about how much better his Kel-Tec in .380 is, to my newly received Polish 9x18. After some research and joining this forum I feel he is mistaken - but then again I'm no expert. I just enjoy relieving stress at the range.

Are there any P-64 experts that could lend a little knowledge to shut him up?
nicksterdemus

Post by nicksterdemus »

I'm by no stretch of the imagination an expert but the 9mm Makarov round has a tad more umph than the .380. I think it's 9.2 mm so it's a little bigger 'round. Being all steel it will absorb more recoil n would be much handier in whoppin' some1 upside da head if ya run outa ammo than the Kel-tec. 3.3" brl makes for a right nice sight plane n I dare say the Kel-tec will not out group the 64. For all practical means they are the same cartridge n same size built for the same purpose, small, light n easy to conceal if need be.

NEXT............................
carguy
Elite member
Elite member

Post by carguy »

And the P-64 cost less.
devlinfaust
Forum supporter
Forum supporter

Post by devlinfaust »

They are both fine weapons for what they are designed for. The Kel-Tec 3AT has the advantage of being smaller, lighter and thereby easier to conceal. In those areas, it excells. If concealment and ease of carry is the priority, it's hard to think of any pistol that beats the Kel-Tec's.

However, the .380 does not have the power of the 9x18, pure and simple. While the P-64 is heavier, this gives it a bit more control. It also has more of a 'presence', if you have to draw it--and that means maybe less of a chance that you'd have to actually fire it.