P-64 and pocket carry

Info, pictures, advice...
dmarbell

P-64 and pocket carry

Post by dmarbell »

So, I Googled "pocket holster p64" and got discussions about Negligent Discharge/Accidental Discharge. It turns out that the NDs were caused by folks trying to pocket carry, with a holster, with the safety not engaged. I studied the issue, and it seems to me that with the safety engaged, my P-64 with safety-decocker is ND- and drop-proof. I just need to practice draw from pocket, disengage safety, and aim and shoot.

It turns out after about 100 tries, I cannot consistently draw from my pocket and disengage the safety. With an accountant's hands, the safety defeats the slight callous I have developed on the inside of the first knuckle of my right thumb. If I can contact the safety with the tip of my thumb, the movement is smooth and fast. I miss the safety with my thumb tip about half the time.

Worse yet is the thought of having two hands always free to jack one into the chamber, if I carry with full mag and no round in the chamber. Also, I lose one round. Might as well carry an Airweight revolver?

What's the answer? Get a pocket holster that covers the trigger, safety off, and be damned careful putting it into your pocket? I love my little gun, but it's about the be relegated to car/truck/house gun, and get a CM9 for pocket carry.

Danny
Curly1
Elite member
Elite member

Re: P-64 and pocket carry

Post by Curly1 »

Try using your free hand thumb as you bring the gun up into a 2 handed hold to disengage the safety.

Granted this will be a problem if you are trying to hold off an attacker with your free hand.
Laugh Hard and Often.

Gary
dmarbell

Post by dmarbell »

I just received two Barsony holsters for my P-64: one leather pocket holster, and one nylon IWB right hand. Both work fine, and are pretty comfortable with this heavy little gun.