Newbie here. Naive question..

Info, pictures, advice...
3rdStooge

Newbie here. Naive question..

Post by 3rdStooge »

Hi Folks,

I've been checking in every now and then while anticipating the arrival of my P-64. It's here and I have yet to get to the range.
As with anything new , I'm thinking about tinkering with springs and grips. Now a new thought: is there any application of Hi-Viz sights to a P-64 that doesn't make me look too stupid, so soon?
dfunk
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Newbie here. Naive question..

Post by dfunk »

Hi and welcome. The only thing that would be foolish, in my opinion, is not shooting it stock on the first outing. Why mess with springs when you have no idea how it will perform to begin with? Also, don't forget, a few hundred rounds can really help smooth things out with any firearm - P64 included.

RE Sights: Short of milling off the sights and replacing them with a custom set, they are what they are. Small, but usable. A lot of people will paint the front sight a bright color with enamel paint or fingernail polish to help see it, but I think a glossy coat of paint is too shiny and actually hinders the picture. To each his own!
3rdStooge

Post by 3rdStooge »

Thanks. Since my P-64 is in virtually new condition, I'll send those rounds through and see what she feels like after breaking in. The DA right now is a bear!
garybok

Post by garybok »

Good advice from dfunk. Definitely get a couple hundred rounds through it before tinkering. The DA trigger put me off at first too, but after a few range sessions I'm quite comfortable with it. As long as you squeeze consistently and don't hesitate (in other words, don't try to "stage" the trigger like you might in a DA revolver), it becomes predictable and workable.