A Newcomer with an Opinion

Info, pictures, advice...
KCSO

A Newcomer with an Opinion

Post by KCSO »

Stumbled across this forum while I was looking for parts for a customers gun. I will preface my remarks with a little background...
I am a retired LEO with 40 years in the business with 35 of them spent as a firearms instructor. I currently work as a gunsmith and have done this job part time for over 30 years. I carry concealed every day and have for over 40 years and I have a fair assortment of weapons available at any time. Currently my carry gun when off duty is a CZ82 that replaced my Beretta 84, I also have a CZ83, a Makarov and a Walther available.

Now on the the P64... I will admit that I had no personal interest in this gun prior to ordering some for the shop. I had a customer who was wild to get one so I made a package deal on them. As soon as the guns came in I had to order Wolf springs for my customer and in the process ended up here.

Now I shoot a good deal and have shot just about every gun made from a Roth Styer to a Highpoint but I will admit to being totally amazed by the P64. I took a box stock P64 from the shelf and did a tune up to get it in shape, Wolf Springs polished feed ramp and a white dot on the front sight. I also widened the rear sight to accomadate my ageing eyes. Then I took the little gun to the indoor range and fired it at 20 yards from my padded rest...WOW , I can't believe it! My first group was 1.1" center to center! This was with Privi factory ammo. I took my Beretta down to see if this was a mistake, it wasn't the Beretta (New$600) shot it's usual 3" group and the P64's second group with cast bullets went under 1 1/2".

Now I will admit the recoil with the P64 is heavier than the Beretta but there is also less bulk in the grips and a lot less to hang on to also. It is manageable for an experienced shooter.

These are a darn fine gun for twice the money and I am busy crafting a C/C holster for my new little gem.
fully machined